C.L. Baid Metha College of Pharmacy
Tel : 044 – 24960151 / 24960425 / 24962592
About Us

The need for qualified pharmacists in the present context made the Tamilnadu Chemists and Druggists to take a momentous decision on the Ist December 1979 to establish a College of Pharmacy in Chennai. The entire pharmaceutical trade in Tamilnadu rose to the occasion to offer their co-operation.

The sustained efforts taken by the Educational Trust brought the idea into fruition within a short span of time and the College of Pharmacy was inaugurated on 13th July 1980 by the then Minister of Health Government of Tamilnadu, Dr. H.V. Hande.

Dr. C.L. Metha
Founder Secretary & Correspondent
9.11.1927 - 17.6.1995
Dr. C.L. Metha, one of the senior members of the Pharmaceutical trade and President of the All India Organization of Chemists and Druggists Association made a spontaneous donation of land and offered a benevolent cash donation which set the pace for further donations. Dr. C.L. Metha a philanthropist had a vision to provide affordable and quality pharma education without collecting donation or capitation. The college was named after the illustrious Dr. C.L. Metha for yeoman services rendered by him towards the cause of Pharmacy education.
College Committee Members
Mr.Vinod Khanna – Chairman
Dr.Harish L Metha – Executive Trustee
Mr.R.Srinivasan – Vice-Chairman
Mr.L.Uday Metha – Secretary and Correspondent
Mr.Vinod Khanna

Our Chairman Mr. Vinod Khanna is a social worker.  He has rich experience in all aspects of the Pharmaceutical trade having been involved in Pharma retail, distribution, production and planning, sales and marketing.  
He was the Managing Director of a bulk drug manufacturing unit.  He also served as Secretary of Tamilnadu Chemists and Druggists Association.  He was instrumental in setting up this first self financing pharmacy college in Tamilnadu.

Executive Trustee

Our Executive Trustee Dr. Harish L Metha, the illustrious son of our late founder, Dr.C.L.Mehta is an educationist and an upright industrialist. He is also the Secretary and Correspondent of M.N.M Jain Engineering College, Chennai and D.B. Jain College of Arts and Science, Chennai.

He is the Chairman of Indian Red Cross Society, Tamilnadu state branch and was awarded the "IRCS Gold Medal" by His Excellency the President of India. He is the Central Council member of the All India Manufacturers Organization, National Headquarters Commissioner (Southern Region) of Bharat Scouts and Guides and Chief Traffic Warden of Chennai city. He has won the coveted Silver Elephant award, which is the highest scout award in India.


Our Vice Chairman, Mr.R.Srinivasan is a qualified registered pharmacist. with many years of active experience in pharmaceutical trade. He is Secretary & Correspondent of Dr. C.L. Metha Sishya OMR School, Editor of the journal PharmaLink which focus on Pharmaceutical Care. He is the owner of Essen Associates, C&F Agents for Sanofi Aventis Group. He was the former General

Secretary of Tamilnadu Chemists and Druggists Association. He is one of the trustees of the Tamilnadu Pharmaceutical Welfare Trust. He is also the founder President of Pharmaceutical Manufacturer's Association of Tamilnadu, Trustee AIOCD Educational Trust and PharmaCare Foundation.

Secretary and Correspondent

Our Secretary and Correspondent, Mr.L.Uday Metha the illustrious son of our late founder, Dr.C.L.Mehta is a graduate in Chemistry and holds a Diploma in Pharmacy. He is a business man, entrepreneur and a widely travelled person with wide ranging interests and an exemplary zeal to give back to society. He is the Vice Chairman of Southern India Rajasthani Chamber of Commerce and Industry. He is the Secretary of Jain International Trade Organisation, Rajasthani Jain Samaj, B.S.Mootha Girls Higher Secondary School and S.S.C.V Ramdev Mariculation School. Uday Metha has long assumed responsibility as Member, Governing Council of D.B Jain College and M.N.M. Jain Engineering College and Management Committee member of Dr.C.L.Metha Shishya OMR School. Taking a stand on issues close to his heart he is the Treasurer of World Vegetarian Council.

Alumni Registration